Korean ginseng chicken soup 

just craving for more soupy dish today and this is one of my favorite using fresh Gingseng and Spring Chicken,I finished the whole pot of chicken soup by myself, it so nourishing and Gingseng help us to breath better and so we feel better and it will make us feel more energetic . So my advised is, don’t take Gingseng too close to bed time! 

ingredients:

  • 1 Spring chicken or small regular chicken
  • 2 stalk of American fresh Ginseng ( can use dried one)
  • 8 red dates 
  • 8 Dried chestnuts
  • 1/2 cup of Glutinous rice
  •  2 sliced of fresh ginger
  • Salt & white pepper to taste 
  • Soya sauces ( optional)



American Fresh Gingseng

Steps:



  • Washed all the ingredients, trimmed all the excess fat from chicken, place the glutinous rice inside the chicken tummy, and put the chicken in a deep clay pot, put the rest of the ingredients, ginger, red dates, dried chestnut, and water just enough to cover the chicken.
  • Bring the clay pot to boil uncover, once it start boiling, lower the heat and cover the clay pot and stewed it for at least one hour 
  • Add salt and white pepper to taste, I prefer abit of Soya sauces to add a nice brown to the soup ( more appetizing) 
  • Garnish with fresh green onion
  • This soup can be cook in magic pot, slow cooker as well.

After Cooking for 1 hour, you can garnish with fresh green onion before serving


That’s how our dinner look like, my kids doesn’t like herbal soup, so I make stewed Five spices pork belly, stir fried broccoli and pork ribs lotus root soup for them, I’m just happy with my pot of Gingseng Chicken soup pair with some cut chili with soya sauces, my husband like to dip the chicken with Sea Salt mixed with white pepper.



Enjoy! 


2 thoughts on “Korean ginseng chicken soup 

Leave a comment