Thai Pad Thai my easy version

Tomorrow am having a few friends over for dinner, my friend Claudia moved from Los Alto to LA couple months ago and she’s my very 1st friend here in California ( my friend Yuka in S’pore introduced her to me before I move here).

Claudia is German and her husband Danny is Chinese, they had a son Collin who are same age as Angelina my daughter and such a small world, When we know them, Danny is still working for my husband previous company, so they have a lot to talk about when we have gathering.

So today I have to make something simple for myself.  Yesterday I bought a pack of rice noodle and didn’t know what to make and when my stomach start calling I think im into something sweet, spicy and tangy only thing I didn’t have for this dish tonight is fried tofu, but everything else tasted the same.. Well I did 17.5km run this morning so I’m allowed to spoiled myself 

Thai Pad Thai Noodle

Ingredient:

  • Rice noodle (kuek Tiao or Hor Fun)
  • Firm tofu ( cut into cube and fried it till crispy)
  • 1/2 pounds of Shrimp peeled 
  • 2 cups of bean sprouts 
  • 2 eggs
  • 2-4 tbsp of fish sauces ( taste it and see how much you need to add more after cooking)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp of peanut oil ( can use any type if you have allergy to peanut)
  • 2 tbsp of Tamarine paste
  • 4 cloves of minced garlic
  • 2 shallots 
  • 1 tbsp of ketchup( for the color)

For garnishing:

  • Chinese Chives
  • Bean sprout 
  • Lime wedge 
  • Chili peppers powder 
  • Peanuts (optional)



Steps:

  1. In a hot wok, fried the garlic and shallot till fragrant 
  2. Add the shrimp and add a bit of salt and black pepper to season the shrimps 
  3. Add the rice noodle and stir fried for about 2 minutes, add Tamarine paste, fish sauces, oyster sauces & sugar and stir well.
  4. Push the noodle on one side of the wok, crack 2 eggs on the empty side of wok, add a title oil incase you are not using Non stick wok to prevent sticking on the bottom. Fried the egg for less than a minute & combined everything together, taste it at this point and add extra seasoning if necessary.
  5. Add in the bean sprouts and Chinese Chives till well combine together about 1 minute.
  6. Plate the noodle and use the garnish on the side of noodle .





This noodle dish go well with a  glass of Sauvignon Blanc

Ok I’m going to get things ready for tomorrow, packed the extra Pad Thai for my good friends Anneli who took Billy with her and her 2 sons for tennis while I’m making the Pad Thai. I forgot to sprinkle some red chili flake but I think she doesn’t care cos her tolerant of spicyness is pretty low! 

See you tomorrow!



Leave a comment